In attempting to write of the Haley Family, we should begin our record with the London Company, which planted the first permanent settlement at Jamestown in 1607. . . . Mr. JOHN HALEY had been a stockholder in England in the London Company, and either because it paid no dividends, or for some other reason, we find him disposing of some of his stock in the Company in 1618. He had been interested in the venture, to the extent of placing his money in the enterprise, and was thus instrumental in the planting of the first English Settlement in the New World.

John Haley's name first appeared among the Quakers when he signed a marriage certificate at Fork Creek Meeting in Louisa County on September 8, 1746. He was overseer of this Fork Creek Meeting for many years, and lived in the vicinity of this Meeting for many years, and died in this vicinity. On May 8, 1758, perhaps on account of age, he requested release as overseer of Fork Creek Meeting. He is mentioned as a member of Fork Creek Meeting on August 12, 1769, when his son John Haley was disowned.

William Haley, formerly thought to have been a son of John of Louisa, was probably a brother to John and also a Quaker. His name first appears in Louisa on February 14, 1742, when his cattle mark (of two smooth crops) was recorded. Again his name appears on October 10, 1743, when his negro boy was adjudged to be eight years old. His first land in Louisa was probably acquired before 1742, when Louisa was severed from the western portion of Hanover. Hanover records prior to 1742 might reveal more of William. His first patent to land in Louisa was "granted to him, the said William Haley, by his Majesty's letters pattent bearing the XXV day of June, One Thousand seven hundred and forty seven, and the revertions, To Have and to Hold." His next grant of four hundred acres was "granted to him the said William Haley by his Majesty's letter pattent bearing date the 10th day of February, 1748." On the 9th of August, 1746, William Haley was appointed Co of the newly settled Meeting at Fork Creek in Louisa. This Meeting was near the Louisa and Goochland County line. On the 16th of May, 1748, William and his family were received in membership in the Camp Creek Meeting. On April 16, 1750, William requested to be released as overseer of the Fork Creek Meeting, as he was now a member in good standing in Camp Creek. On the 25th of August, 1752, William was granted a certificate to the Cain Creek Monthly Meeting in North Carolina. He was no doubt thinking of leaving Virginia, probably due to persecution, as he was an outstanding Quaker among this sect. However, he seems to have attempted to remain in Virginia for the time being, and on April 13, 1754, he was serving on a committee of his Church and signed a marriage certificate for a couple. Conditions must have still remained critical, for in 1754 his property was seized due to the zeal of the new Minister of the Established Church in Louisa. On October 12, 1754, he requested a Certificate to Friends in North Carolina. His fellow Quakers seemed loath to see him leave their midst, for though he applied for a certificate to the Cane Creek Meeting in North Carolina on August 9, 1755, it was not until October 11, 1755, that the certificate was granted. He and his family moved to Anson County, North Carolina, in the fall of 1755, where the Established Church was of no consequence, and the majority of the population were Quakers. On December 6, 1755, William Haley was received on certificate by the Cane Creek Monthly Meeting in North Carolina from the Camp Creek Meeting in Virginia. So at last he had left his home state, no longer able to abide by conditions that prevailed there. On the 11th of November, 1756, having been in North Carolina for a year, William Haley sold to Elkanah Anderson, of the County of Hanover in Virginia, the 400 acre plantation on the branches of Fork Creek, which he had patented on the 10th day of February in 1748 for 40. Two days later, on November 13, 1756, William Haley, of the Colony of North Carolina and County of Anson, sold to Joseph Crews, of the Colony of Virginia and County of Hanover and Parish of St. Peters, 200 acres of land for 20 which had been granted to William Haley by his Majesty's Letter Patent bearing the 25th day of June, 1747. John Haley and Benjamin Clark were witnesses. On September 20, 1758, Elkanah Anderson and his wife Sarah sold back to William Haley of Anson County, North Carolina, Planter, apparently the same 400 acres for the original selling price of 40. On April 25, 1772, John Haley, of the Parish of Fredericksville in Louisa County, received a Letter of Attorney from William Haley, Senior, father of William Haley, Junior, both of whom were in Anson County, North Carolina, instructing him to see that the 400 acres on branches of Fork Creek were granted to his son William, Junior, which was accordingly done. Nowhere is the name of the wife of William Haley, Senior, mentioned, and it is assumed she was deceased, else her signature would have been required on the sale or transfer of property. Having the 400 acres on branches of Fork Creek in his own name, William Haley, Junior, of the Province of North Carolina, lost little time in disposing of the tract, as he sold it on June 13, 1772, to Nicholas Merewether of the County of Goochland for 20. This had apparently been a gift from father to son and seems to have been sold for far less than its true value. William Haley, Senior, made his first purchase of land in Anson County, North Carolina, on the 5th day of November in 1754, when he paid Joseph Kemp of Anson County 75 for 213 acres of land. He seems to have spent the remainder of his life in North Carolina, but had moved across the Pee Dee River into Richmond County prior to the making of his will on April 28, 1780. He was deceased prior to December Court, 1782, as his will was admitted to probate at that time. His sons Silas Haley and William Haley were named as his executors. He left the following to his seven children:

Isom (Isham) Haley, the son of William of Louisa and Anson, married Elizabeth ______. He was received by the Cane Creek Monthly Meeting of Quakers in Anson County, North Carolina, from the Camp Creek Monthly Meeting in Louisa County, Virginia, on December 7, 1754. He and his family probably moved with his father and family at the same time to Anson County. On January 18, 1769, Isham Haley and his wife Elizabeth sold to Joseph Hinds for 30 a 100 acre tract lying northeast of Pee Dee on the north fork of Mountain Creek. This land had been patented by William Terrill in 1756 and was acquired by Isham in 1768. Isham Haley established a ferry on Pee Dee River, connecting Anson County with Richmond on the east of the river. In 1769 the Regulators circulated a petition in Anson County asking that the Government establish a warehouse at Isham Haley's Ferry on Pee Dee for the convenience of the people. Among the Regulators signing the petition were Isham Haley, his father William Haley, and his two brothers Silas and William Haley. Isham Haley's Ferry continued in the family for many years. From North Carolina Isham Haley and wife moved to South Carolina, where they became members of the Piney Grove Monthly Meeting. He served in the Continental Army from South Carolina. On January 27, 1816, Isham and wife Elizabeth were received by the Back Creek Monthly Meeting in Randolph County, North Carolina, from the Piney Grove Monthly Meeting in South Carolina. The Piney Grove Monthly Meeting in South Carolina had been discontinued. It is not known when Isham Haley died, nor do we know the names of his children. One son, William, was married to Elizabeth Matthews on December 7, 1762. He was dismissed by the Quakers on March 3, 1775. It is believed he had a son Jonathan Haley, as his ferry was the property of a Jonathan Haley in 1855, who left it to his grandchildren, the children of his son Mark; namely, Hiram Hailey, Robert Hailey, Mary Amelia Hailey, Thomas Hailey, William Hailey, Josephine Hailey, Virginia Hailey, Erasmus Hailey and James Hailey. It is also felt that Lucy Hailey, who married Lott Stricklin on March 17, 1783, in Richmond County, North Carolina, was a daughter who left the following six children, who were the grandchildren of Jonathan Hailey and were mentioned in his will: Milton Stricklin, Mary Stricklin, Martha Stricklin, Susan Stricklin, Hardy Stricklin, and Jonathan Stricklin.

There were two Jonathan Haleys in North Carolina in 1820. One lived in Richmond County and was just under the age of 45, with a wife of approximately the same age, and they had four sons and four daughters. The other Jonathan was married; he and his wife being under the age of 26, with no children, probably recently married, were living in Anson County. The two Jonathans were most likely father and son, and son and grandson of Isham Haley. Randolph Haley, the son of William of Louisa and Anson, was probably never married. He lived in Richmond County, where